It was so easy!

For a long time I’ve wanted to make my own beauty products. Gathering the supplies has been the biggest problem. I live in a 36 foot 5th wheel trailer and I have several hobbies that take up our storage space. Squeezing a few more in (and remembering where I stowed them) has been interesting, to say the least.

Making this lip balm was very easy and if I can do it so can you! Once all the ingredients were gathered it took about 15 minutes to make

IMG_4683

Peppermint Lip Balm

3 T organic sunflower oil
1 T organic cocoa butter
1 T plus 1 t beeswax pastilles
15 drops organic peppermint essential oil
a few drops of vitamin E oil, which is optional

Place beeswax, butter and oil in the top of a double boiler (I used the microwave and a glass measuring cup) until all is melted. Remove from heat (careful the glass may be hot!) add the essential oil and vitamin E oil. Swirl for minute or two and then pour immediately into the lip balm tubes or containers. Makes about 10 tubes

The recipe is from Mountain Rose Herbs as are most of the supplies

If you try this, let me know how you liked it!

Leave a Reply

